Technology

Getting a New iPad? Do This Before You Get Rid of Your Old One Wipe your iPad clean and keep your personal data safe.


Getting a new iPad is filled with many exciting questions and investigations; comparing specs and reading reviews and lists, but beyond the excitement of a new device, there is the all-important question of what to do with your old iPad. If your iPad is still in working condition, you have several options, like selling it or repurposing it, but before you do anything with your old iPad, you need to erase it and factory reset it. 

By erasing your iPad and giving it a factory reset before you give it away or sell it, you are protecting any sensitive personal data that could be left on your device. Taking just a few seconds to do this can save you a lot of time and stress. Here’s exactly how to wipe your iPad and protect yourself when switching around devices. 

Before you erase, Be sure to back up

If you want to keep the data that is already on your iPad before you erase and reset it, you will first need to back up your iPad. There are a couple of ways you can backup your iPad via Mac and Windows PC, but the easiest way to back up your iPad is to do so using iCloud. 

You can back up using iCloud by going to Settings > your name at the top of the page > iCloud > iCloud Backup. Next, you should “Turn on iCloud Backup.” Once you’ve enabled iCloud Backup, your iPad should back up automatically once a day when your iPad is connected to power, connected to the internet and locked. 

Settings menus from an Apple iPad showing the necessary steps to complete a backup and factory reset.

Using Apple’s iCloud is the easiest way to back up an iPad. 


Screenshot by Mary-Elisabeth Combs/CNET

If you want to manually back up your iPad you will follow the same steps as above but once you get to iCloud Backup select “Back Up Now.”  You can view previous backups by going to Settings > your name at the top of the page > iCloud > Manage Storage > Backups. 

Settings menus from an Apple iPad showing the necessary steps to complete a back up and factory reset.

Click Back Up Now in iCloud settings to start saving immediately.


Screenshot by Mary-Elisabeth Combs/CNET

A helpful tip for backing up your devices: Make sure whatever you are backing up is connected to both the internet and a power source. This ensures that you aren’t draining your battery or your data while you back up your devices. 

Settings menus from an Apple iPad showing the necessary steps to complete a back up and factory reset.

Apple makes it pretty easy to wipe an iPad from the settings menu.


Screenshot by Mary-Elisabeth Combs/CNET

Time to erase

Now that you’ve saved your data, it is time to erase your device. Like backing up your iPad, there are two ways to erase your device, with your Mac or Windows PC or on your iPad. Again, the easier option is to reset directly from the iPad. 

To erase your device go to Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPad and then tap “Erase All Content and Settings.” 

Screenshot of an Apple iPad settings menu

Screenshot by Mary-Elisabeth Combs/CNET

Now that all of your personal data is safely backed up and your iPad is completely wiped, you can fully revel in the joys of selecting a new iPad or other tablets. 

Speaking of that new iPad or tablet, check out CNET’s recommendations for iPads and for Android tablets



Source from www.cnet.com

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button